Just Outside Your Door:  Fireflies

Last night, as I lay in bed reading, I was listening to the boys (young men actually) outside my window, chasing and catching (and unfortunately, squishing a few) fireflies.  

 

 

Summer is here!

 

Fireflies are relatively uninspiring critters by day.  But by night, they are a different story!

 

This morning I looked up the lessons of the firefly from several different online sources.  They are symbolic of things like:

 

hope

energy

guidance

illumination

 

just to list a few.

 

I haven't had time this morning to research the more scientific side of the firefly (though I think it's amazing that their butt's look like the new lightbulbs we get).  

 

The thing is, that the hours of amusement they bring, the way they brought out the kid in these young men, the way they were given as gifts ... even the discovery that they are kinda like glow-sticks and the once broken the goo still shines for awhile ... makes them a source of inspiration!  The best part is, that they are just outside your door!!

Write a comment

Comments: 0