How Do We Reach Those Who Need Us Most?

A little over a year ago, I anticipated a life change that would have my family relocating.  It would be a big move.  We'd be moving to a different region of the country, a different life style.  I didn't want to give up on CEM at the time so I prayed for a solution. It became evident, that chldren in urban areas needed to be outside as much as those who lived out in the suburbs or in the country.

 

 

We have a mentality that inside, eating packaged foods, in front of screens is a safe place for children.  Safer than being outside.

 

I love what I do.  I love the homeschoolers I work with.  The last few days, however, I've felt this stirring again.  These are children who are outside.  Their parents think it's important.  Their parents aren't afraid to get outside.  At least for the most part.  The question came up again.  How can I reach children and really make a difference?  

 

I want to take that child that never walks barefooted on uneven ground and get their shoes off them.  I want to take the child who spends hours inside, out into a field, in the rain.  I want to take the child who only swims in chlorine and dunk them in a fresh water pond.

 

Am I making enough of a difference?  Or is there more I could do?  How would I begin?  Where would I begin?  

 

My motto since I began my homeschooling journey, has been, "Do what you can, with what you have, where you are."  Theodore Roosevelt.

 

So may be this is enough.  Maybe God is planting seeds for the future.  I certainly am at a point where I want to keep myself open.

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0